Princess Program

Cultivating Indiana’s Next Generation of Leaders

2017 500 Festival Queen

Shivani Bajpai of Zionsville. Shivani is 2017 graduate of IUPUI where she majored in Biology and minored in Spanish, Chemistry, Medical Humanities and Health studies. Shivani is a graduate of Carmel High School and is the daughter of Sarita and Anil Bajpai.

Why did she want to become a 500 Festival Princess?
“The 500 Festival – whether it be viewed from my childhood or now, 21 years later – has always been a grand affair; volunteers, an audience, celebrities, and activities galore. Furthermore, the appeal and impact of the 500 Festival touches every generation, which is a rare quality in many events nowadays. These observations personify values such as collaboration, commitment, and community on a large scale. To be a 500 Festival Princess would not only mean being a part of the same values that I cherish in my personal life, but also using that platform and positivity towards the betterment for the city that we celebrate. I am drawn to the aspect of community service that enhances the grandeur of the 500 Festival in a way that is truly inspirational. In fact, previous 500 Festival Princesses were the ones who encouraged me to apply for this program as a means of contributing my skill set at a higher, more impactful level.”


Past 500 Festival Queens

2016 Experience the Celebration Patty Martin Caitlin Foye Emma Stumpf
2015 Celebrate the Stories of May Gary Aletto Ali Mathena 1955 Crispus Attucks State Champion Basketball Team
2014 Feel the Rhythm of May John Crisp Lauren Isaacs Josh Kaufman
2013 TurboCharging Indy Ted Dickman Allison Jacob Indiana Fever
2012 A New REVolution Scott Thiems Taylor Adams Olivia Newton John
2011 Miles of Memories: Celebrating the Most Important Race in History Tom McGowan Riley Hoffman Anderson Cooper
2010 Embrace the Pace: Honoring the 100th Anniversary of the Indianapolis Motor Speedway Connie Lund Brooke Dorsett Butler Bulldogs
2009 Laps, Legends & Legacy: Honoring the 100th Anniversary of the Indianapolis Motor Speedway® Steve Walker Annie Berning Dick Vitale
2008 Fuel the Dream Charlie Morgan Karle Schaefer Hougland Patricia Heaton
2007 Spirit And Speed Cindy Simon Skjodt Danielle Sylvester Wasson Peyton Manning